top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCasey Knowlton

BACK AND FORTH

It's been a rough couple of weeks, but I think we are on the other side of the challenges. Many times in my life I've heard the expression, "experience comes from bad decision making." While I don't think anyone has made any bad decisions, learning from the past has been the experience we needed. Mom regressed quite a bit in the last two weeks emotionally and spiritually. Using what we have been through as a base line we have been able to re-motivate, re-charge, and re-group without to much stress and emotional upheaval. It's time for us to rally around her as I suspect this is going to be a long and very difficult winter for everyone.


To start, Mom has not been sleeping at all. Couple this with the constant issue of dehydration and what we get is some cloudy thinking, memory loss, and a little fight :) She has revisited how upset she is about not being able to drive. She suggested that she be allowed to drive McCall's kids to school in Park City. She wants to do this because she feels so helpless with the new little nugget, Marigold, and nothing able to assist McCall. I explained to her that this was not even an option and how dangerous it would be to even consider it. I had to lay the law with her once again that she will unfortunately, not be able to drive again. She took it hard, but we talked through it and she understands. Independence is so important to her and removing this part is difficult.


Another step back (in my opinion) is that she cancelled her private care. I was pretty angry when I heard this and I had to get my emotions in check before I spoke with her about it. I understand the issues (independence), but I don't agree with the decision. She agreed to chat more about possibly having them come twice a week to help out and take her out on errands. In the mean time she agreed to have the grandkids that have drivers licenses come get her and take her for a drive once or twice a week. She seemed trilled to have them come do that and we will see how it goes.


Now for the good news. I again arrived to the house to see her walking on her own. Yes, ALL ON HER OWN. No walker, no nothing. I jumped up and ran to her to catch her (she didn't need to be) and she swatted my arm away and told me, "I got this!" No joke. She does use a cane at times and she does walk very slowly. But by golly she is walking on her own.With the chair Dad bought her that lifts her out and sets her back down she can move around the house by herself. Next up is getting her to do laundry on her own. For some reason she loves to do the laundry and this has been a goal of hers for months!


Thanks again to all of you for your emails, texts, and calls. It lifts her spirits more than you know!


I've included some pictures of Mom and Bill, as well as with Tony and me from a LONG TIME AGO :)


145 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page