top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCasey Knowlton

HYDRATE HYDRATE HYDRATE

Hydrate Hydrate Hydrate is something I heard throughout my entire 20 years in the military. Every time we had an exercise, event, or large gathering the Commanders would loudly say this over the base intercom several times throughout the day. When I was in the Middle East I would think, "OK, I need to hydrate". They even had posters of urine color everywhere to determine for yourself if you were dehydrated (true story). But when I was in the states I would be extremely annoyed. Give up already! As it turns out, hydration is VERY important :)


These past two weeks have been as stable as they previous two. The exception being we had a few rounds of delirium, not making sense, and stories that never happened. All were due to Mom not drinking enough and becoming dehydrated. It is so frustrating to force someone to drink when they clearly don't want to. We have tried many ways to trick her (typing that sounds terrible) and keep her hydrated. When I sternly tell her to drink more she replies. "I am! I can't drink anymore!". The fact is she is sipping and not drinking and she only gets more annoyed when we try to get her to drink. This isn't a battle we can/will lose so all we can do is keep trying. We just need to get more creative. We ended up having to call in an IV team last week to get her levels back to normal. Needless to say...she was pissed :)


Crazy news today - McCall had her 4th child this morning! An as of yet unnamed baby girl! 5lbs 9oz. Mom and babe are doing great! Jon is with her and the other kids are with G Pa and G ma, as well as their cousins, the Nelsons. Pics next post!


Pictures I have included are of Mom and Tony is our University of Utah apartment and of me in my favorite hippo shirt with Tony in Grandma's sink in Richfield. Enjoy those :)



148 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page