top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCasey Knowlton

SOMETIMES YOU JUST NEED YOUR MOM

Thankfully, there is not much different to report this week. It has been relatively quiet and Mom seems to be stable with the current situation. Hospice has been cancelled and she is getting out more and more. In fact, she went out to dinner with my son for Sushi last night. He mentioned to me that she did fantastic and was able to sit in her wheelchair in the restaurant. He did say that he was glad he was a strong young man to be able to put her back in the car :)


All week I have been out of town for work and on my long walks I have been reflecting on what my Mom means to me. I reminded myself of a day not so long ago that my tough as nails sister was having a rough day. Our Mom was deep in pain, discomfort, and hysterics. McCall mentioned to me that day that she really needed Mom to be the Mom, instead of having to take care of Mom day in and day out. She needed Mom to give her advice, comfort her, and tell her everything was going to be ok. I'm a 48 year old grown man with my own grown kids with grandkids knocking on the door and I need my Mom every day. Throughout my life she had been the rock to myself, my siblings, and our Dad. She is where Mo gets her toughness from. She is the reason we are all so driven. She is the reason we are who we are. We all owe our Mom everything. I hope I let her feel that way every chance I get to see her.


Let me ask those of you that are reading this to reach out to your Mom's today or tomorrow. Let her know how special she is and how much you appreciate her. Tell her you love her. We almost missed our last chance to do that ourselves.


I've included some pictures of me and my Mom right after I was born and as a 1 year old. Enjoy :)



171 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page